Peanut Butter & Banana-Stuffed French Toast

It’s pretty simple to make. For each person I took one slice of Hawaiian bread, spread organic creamy peanut butter on one side and placed four thin slices of ripe banana on one half of the slice. I folded the bread slice in half over the bananas, creating a PB&B sandwich, and pushed down gently so it stayed in place. I pressed the sandwiches under a plate for about ten minutes.

Then I dredged the sandwiches on all sides in a milk & egg mixture (3/4 cup milk, 2 eggs, pinch of sugar, pinch of salt, pinch of cinnamon). I then crusted the wet sandwiches with pulverized rice krispies (put in a ziploc, beat with a wooden spoon or wooden crab mallet) by putting the cereal crumbs in a wide, shallow bowl and placing the moistened sandwich into the crumbs. I pressed the crumbs firmly onto all wet edges. Finally I browned them on all sides in melted butter in a well-seasoned skillet over medium to medium-high flame.

I cut each in half on the bias and drizzled with generous quantities of good maple syrup.

My boy Bennet helped whip the eggs and milk mixture. He pulverized the rice krispies and crusted the French toast with the cereal. He loves helping…and eating.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter & Banana-Stuffed French Toast

Leave a Reply

