Soulful Sole

Dover sole is such a lovely fish — mild, sweet, and so tender it will virtually melt on your tongue. It’s so delicate it should be treated without much adornment. A frugal squeeze of lemon is the only I thing I need if the fish is very fresh, cooked quickly, and cooked well.

Delicate Dover Sole is Delicious & Delightful!

It’s really pretty easy to cook crazy-good filet of sole. I took a few dover sole filets (they’re small so plan on two per person) and soaked them in whole milk for about 30 minutes. In the meantime I made a simple flour dredge to coat the filets with.

I mixed together…

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup semolina flour
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon  Old Bay Seasoning
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon coriander powder
1/2 teaspoon celery salt

I used only about half of this flour mixture, btw.

I pulled the sole from the milk soak and then dredged them well in the seasoned flour. I coated both sides of each filet and let them hang out for about ten minutes before I cooked them. Letting them relax for a few minutes allows for the flour to adhere better to the fish, creating a nice crunch.

Dredge the milk filets in the seasoned flour.

I heated a large skillet over medium-high flame. Added about a 1/4 cup of olive oil and heated it until it was just barely smoking. I added the fish and pan-fried, without moving them too much, for about 5 minutes a side, until golden brown.

Fry dat fish!

I drained the fish for about a minute on paper towels and then transferred them to a platter. I threw on a few lemon slices and some minced parsley. It was, in all honestly, f$@kin’ great! Soulful!

It tastes even better than it looks!

Please give this a try. And thanks so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

