Roughin’ It!

I’m not sure why I haven’t cooked orange roughy lo these many years, as I’ve recently discovered that it’s a delicious fish — mild, sweet, tender, and very easy to cook. I think it’s only resurfaced on the market after been close to being over-fished; at any rate, I’ve only noticed it at my fishmonger recently.

Picture sorta sucks, it’s true. But this fish is dynamite, also true!

Post-wedding, Regina and I have been trying to eat light to offset the week-long feasting. I made this fantastic fish a few days ago and it was incredibly easy to make. The results were dynamite!

I preheated the oven to 400 degrees F. I laid the fish fillets out on sheet pan and sprinkled them with minced cilantro, minced parsley, minced scallions, lemon zest, fleur de sel, and cracked pepper. I drizzled a little olive oil over the top and added a hunk of softened butter. I baked it for about fifteen minutes or until the juices from the fish coagulated and beaded white around the edges of the fillets. I squeezed a bit of lemon over the top and ate it voraciously. With a salad it made a perfect, light dinner.

Leave a Reply

