Goat Cheese & Tomato "Fondue"

This is a little appetizer I knocked out this past weekend, using leftover stuff I had in the fridge. I crumbled about a third of a cup of chevre (French soft goat cheese.) and put it into an ovenproof dish with a little fleur de sel and cracked peppercorn. I then took some fresh homemade tomato sauce and warmed it up in a little pot on the stove. I poured the pomodoro over the goat cheese and topped it with some minced fresh basil and about a tablespoon of finely grated parmesan cheese. Next I drizzled a couple of teaspoons of extra virgin olive oil over the “fondue”. Then I placed the dish on a sheet pan and heated it in a 400 degree oven for ten minutes. I then turned the broiler on and broiled it for another three minutes until it was browned and bubbling like hot lava.

Easy and delicious! Pretty damn hot when it comes out of the oven. Don’t scorch the roof of your mouth!

I served this with a leftover pizza crust that I cooked without sauce; I brushed it with olive oil and sprinkled it with a combination of cracked pepper, salt, minced rosemary, basil, and chives.

Okay, okay, you’re probably saying to yourself, “Well, shit, I don’t have homemade pizza dough just lying around the house! Never mind fresh homemade tomato sauce. What the hell does Spencer expect?”

Well, I expect that you can figure this out pretty easily. If you don’t have homemade pizza dough, buy a package from Trader Joe’s or Gelson’s or some other decent store. Cook according to package directions with the fresh herbs I mentioned. Or substitute some nice grilled ciabatta bread or baguette!

No fresh tomato sauce? Use a good jarred sauce like Rao’s or Mario Batali or Giorgio’s. No goat cheese? You can substitute grated mozzeralla or even Monterrey Jack, although you’ll have a much gooier result.

Use what you got, mess around, have fun! This was a cheap and easy little app that everyone enjoyed!

.

2 thoughts on “Goat Cheese & Tomato "Fondue"

  1. This sounds great. It reminds me of a dish that I would make by putting tomato sauce bottom of dish then place dollops of goat cheese over it and stick under the broiler to melt and bubble. I would serve it with crusty bread to dip into. I had forgotten about it. Thanks for the reminder. Thanks for the new ideas. I could use some now.

Leave a Reply

