Totally Yummy Chilled Tofu!

Yesterday I whipped up this salad of simply-dressed, chilled tofu for a late night snack. Regina was roasting some organic kale for a nibble and I wanted something soft and cool and flavorful to complement it. I came up with this fun little appetizer and the end result was fantastic!

It was pretty easy to make and it goes a little something like this…

I took a half block of medium-firm organic tofu which I drained, patted dry, and cut into cubes about 2/3 of inch on a side. I took a small piece (about a 2-inch square) of pressed marinated tofu (available in Asian markets and Whole Foods) and diced it into small cubes about 1/3 inch on a side. I tossed the tofus together and drizzled over the top the following: about a teaspoon of toasted sesame oil, a half-teaspoon of olive oil, a little lemon juice, about a teaspoon of Chinese sweetened black vinegar (balsamic vinegar is a good substitute), a teaspoon of dark soy sauce, and a squeeze of sriracha. I cracked some black pepper over the top and added a pinch of salt. Finally I added about a tablespoon of chopped celery leaf. I tossed everything until well combined and put it into a couple of bowls. On top of the tofu I added a couple of pieces of roasted kale.

A last minute addition of crushed macadamia nuts added another great textural component!

As an afterthought I added a little bit of crushed macadamia nuts. The whole thing was dynamite! Cool, refreshing, a little salty, a little spicy, a little acidic, very flavorful. The crisp kale when crumbled over the top added a wonderful vegetable bitterness to the mild tofu, and the mac nuts added great texture and mild earthiness.

This improvised late night snack was delicious and healthy. Certainly it was a lot healthier than that chicken wing snack we had last week! Give it a try some time. I’m sure you’ll love it!

For tips on roasting kale, check out this previous post of mine:
http://www.spencerhgray.com/2011/06/roasted-kale-is-kool.html

.

Leave a Reply

