Candy-Striped Figs

Delicious and beautiful.

Found these stunning figs at, yeah, you guessed it, Gelson’s Market. Apparently I shop there a whole lot! But I have to say it again, I love their selection and I admire the dedication of John, the produce manager at the Century City store. Today I was bummed when I discovered that they were out of Cotton Candy Grapes, but these (also candy-themed) figs were an interesting find.

These figs are firm and the interior is sweet with a whisper of honey on the tongue. Also, the flesh is vaguely reminiscent of pomegranate in flavor. They are great raw and because of their firm texture, also perfect for grilling. A very nice fig indeed!

Leave a Reply

