Pan-Seared Filet Mignon with Hot Wasabi Butter

I was cooking these little beef filet steaks last night for dinner and I wanted to add a little zest. I seared the steaks over high heat in a skillet, added a pat of butter, and into the warm butter I threw a tablespoon of prepared wasabi (you know, the neon green kind in the plastic tube?). It was a killer addition. Try it yourself.

Tender, succulent filet mignon! With a tiny Asian twist.


First I left the steaks out on the counter (on a plate, covered with wrap) for about 30 minutes, or until about room temp. I seasoned the steaks generously with good salt and cracked pepper. I heated the oven to 350 degrees F and put a skillet on the stove. The skillet I heated over high heat until it was smoking, added about a tablespoon of peanut oil, and seared one side of the filets for about five minutes. I flipped them and cooked the other side for about five minutes. Next I put 2 tablespoons of butter in the pan and popped it in the oven for about three minutes.

I pulled the steaks from the pan and let them rest for 10 minutes. Meanwhile I added a heaping tablespoon of prepared wasabi to the butter and whisked it together. I poured it over the steaks and it was dynamite!

Regina and I added some steamed brown rice, a crisp nappa cabbage and butter lettuce salad, and a little chilled spicy tofu. A great meal, pretty healthy too.

.

Leave a Reply

