Sandwich of the Week – Wee Brisket Sando w/ HorseRadMayo

Cute but packed with flava.

I love leftover brisket even more than freshly-cooked brisket (which I freakin’ love!), because it means I can eat these killer little sandwiches. I found some petite seedy Kaiser rolls and toasted them until lightly browned and slightly crunchy. On the inside of both the top and bottom I slathered a generous amount of my HorseRadMayo and then piled it high with hot, sliced brisket from a hunk I’d cooked the day before. It was phenomenal!! The beef was tender and juicy and salty and meaty. The horseradish-laced mayonnaise sauce added just enough acid and heat to keep it from being cloying. And the bread was warm, soft, and yielding, with just the right amount of crisp.

I enjoyed this with a tall, frosty glass of Stella Artois. And life, for at least twenty minutes, was utter bliss.

HorseRadMayo:
3/4 cup mayo, 1/4 cup hot grated prepared horseradish, 2 tablespoons sour cream, 1 tablespoon whole grain dijon mustard, 1/2 teaspoon Tapatio hot sauce, pinch celery salt, pinch kosher salt, pinch sugar – combine it all with a spoon. Keep refrigerated.

Here’s a link to my brisket recipe:
http://www.spencerhgray.com/2011/06/judys-brisket.html

Leave a Reply

