Tuna Melt on Cinnamon-Raisin Ezekiel Bread

Killer impromptu sando!

I was feeling a bit peckish yesterday so I made this excellent sandwich from ingredients on hand; the result was super-delicious. Now normally I’m not a big fan of raisins used in a savory way. However, I am a big fan of the line of sprouted-grain breads (with and without raisins) sold under the Ezekial moniker. The multi-grain bread is dense with nutrients and fiber, the flavor is hearty, and the bread crunches nicely when toasted or grilled. For a pre-sliced sandwich loaf, it’s about as good as you can get. And it was the only thing I had on hand anyway, so it was that or no sandwich. Not an option.

I whipped up a simple tuna salad from a can of oil-packed Italian tonno, which I forked to flake. Added some homemade mayo, a bit (think teaspoon) of yellow mustard, a squeeze of lime juice, and some minced dill, parsley, tarragon, and green onions. Cracked a little pepper and tossed in some salt too. I mixed it up well and popped it in fridge while I got the rest of it together.

Good bread makes the sandwich!

Some assembly required.

I had some Jack Daniel’s honey mustard in the fridge, so I applied some liberally to one slice of the bread. And then I added two long slices of jarlsberg to the bread (one cheese slice per bread slice), but I tore the slices roughly and topped them on the bread loosely, slightly buckled. This is deliberate. By keeping the cheese lifted off of the bread in some areas more warm air penetrates the sandwich and the cheese-melting process quickens.

I melted two tablespoons of butter over medium-high heat in a hot skillet. I placed the cheese-topped bread into the butter and slowly warmed and crisped the bread. I topped one half of the sandwich with about a half-cup of tuna salad. I covered the skillet with a lid and cooked the sandwich open-faced for about two minutes, or until the cheese was almost melted. I carefully closed the sandwich by flipping the cheese-only bread slice over onto the other slice, and then pressing down with a spatula. I cooked the sandwich for another three or four minutes, flipping occasionally, until well-browned and crunchy.

Mound the tuna salad on one half of your perfect sandwich.

That biblical bread crisps up nice.

The sandwich was fantastic! The interior was warm and moist and herby and yes, a little fishy. The mustard added just enough acidity and sweetness to elevate the complexity of flavor and texture: sweet and salty and hot and crunchy and charred and gooey and soft. Just a perfectly balanced sandwich. My favorite part? The knotty burnt raisins embedded in the crust. Sublime.

Great flavor, great texture.

Leave a Reply

