Vegan Potato & Fresh Corn Chowder

In the spirit of the new season and starting fresh, I made this very light vegan chowder yesterday. It was delightful, cleansing, and very satisfying. And incredibly easy.

This vegan soup is a great way to start off the new year!

I peeled a large yukon gold potato and a large russet. I cut these into biggish chunks and added a cut stalk of celery, the white part of a leek (well-cleaned), a hunk of fennel bulb, a garlic clove, one small basil leaf, a pinch of raw sugar, and plenty of salt and pepper. I topped that with a quarter cup of dry white wine and a good, clear veggie stock.

I brought that to a boil and then reduced heat to a simmer. I cooked it at a low temperature for about thirty minutes until everything was very tender. I added a tablespoon of flax seed oil to the soup and then pureed it in the blender until super smooth. I think I added a little water to it to get the right consistency.

Caution: puree hot soup in small batches in the blender and remove the center handle from the lid, using a kitchen towel to cover the aperture. You can cause a scalding soup explosion if you’re not careful.

Before I served it I scattered a handful of fresh corn niblets into the soup and topped with a few snipped chives. It was yummy!

Leave a Reply

