Today’s Salad: Old-School Crisp

Eat your veggies!

I knocked out this basic salad with crunchy iceberg lettuce, wild young arugula (the only concession to modernity), good vine-ripe tomatoes, shaved red cabbage, some English cucumber, boiled egg, crispy maple bacon, and pre-sliced canned black olives (I make no apologies, I luv ’em!).

I made a pretty simple creamy (but slightly lightened) blue cheese dressing to top it off (I had a huge chunk of leftover stilton to use up.). In the dressing is (measurements approximated) a 1/2 cup crumbled stilton, a 1/4 cup of sour cream, a 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt, a 1/4 cup of homemade mayo, 1 tablespoon cider vinegar, 1 tablespoon whole grain mustard, 1 garlic clove, 1 small sprig of dill, a pinch of paprika, and plenty of cracked pepper. I put all this in a blender and let ‘er rip. I added a bit of water to thin it out to get the blender going. When I got the consistency I wanted I added salt to taste.

And then I drizzled it over my lovely salad.

Leave a Reply

