Today’s Salad: Leftover “throw-together” salad

Another day, another killer salad.

Another easy and refreshing salad, this dish I knocked out from a combination of leftovers. I took half a bag of mixed greens and tossed it with some cooked buttered bowtie pasta that I had leftover (at room temperature so it wasn’t too firm). I added some grated carrots, a few tiny pieces of raw purple cauliflower, and a heaping handful of grated pecorino romano cheese.

For the dressing I took some leftover homemade Caesar dressing into which I whisked the juice of a whole lemon, a teaspoon of whole grain dijon mustard, a couple of dashes of Cholula hot sauce, and a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil. I coated the greens and pasta with this dressing and had a fine starter.

Assembled all from leftovers, which in this economy is a good thing. Reconfiguring your leftovers can save you time, money, and trouble. Be creative!

Leave a Reply

