Today’s Salad: Anita’s Tomatoes with Greek Ranch Dressing

This photo hardly does justice to this delicious salad. Sorry.

Our good friend Anita gave Regina and me a few fantastic tomatoes from her little garden patch. Nothing beats summer sun-ripened tomatoes; and these were very good tomatoes — sweet, acidic, very moist but not mushy. I could hardly assemble this salad as I kept putting juicy tomato slices into my mouth instead of in the bowl to toss the salad!  A warm huzzah to Anita (and Shawn and Syd) for the gift of food.

For this salad I sliced some tomatoes, put them in a bowl, and chucked in a handful of crisp iceberg lettuce and a few chopped scallions. I tossed it with an impromptu “Greek-style” Ranch dressing, which I made from (approximately) 1/2 cup full-fat Greek yogurt, 1/4 cup mayo, 1/2 cup sour cream, 1 or 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil, one big garlic clove (smashed), four thick slices of Persian cucumber, a teaspoon of lemon juice, a 1/4 teaspoon of Konriko Greek seasoning, about four fresh mint leaves, about a teaspoon of chopped dill, and hefty pinches of both kosher salt and cracked black pepper. I whizzed all that up in the blender and chilled it until it was salad o’clock.

I used a couple of tablespoons of this Greek Ranch to coat this excellent salad.

Leave a Reply

