Today’s Brekkie: Fried Egg, Fried Broken Rice, Peppered Bacon

photo-21

Yummy!

This is admittedly not much of a post, but since I’ve hardly had a free moment to post in the past two months (!), I figured I’d better start getting some content out there. Work, travel, and children have seriously cut into my writing time, but I’m back! I promise more posts this week, and hopefully I’ll be able to get OMNIVOROUS back into a nice groove.

I had some leftover “broken” rice, which is fractured grains of Jasmine rice common to Vietnamese cuisine. I love the stuff for its flavor and its very specific mouthfeel. For breakfast today I fried the rice with garlic, ginger, and green onions. First I heated a couple of tablespoons of peanut oil in a very hot wok and threw in about a teaspoon each of minced ginger and minced garlic. I quickly added about a tablespoon of thinly cut scallions (white part) and stirred it around. I added about a cup and half of the cooked broken rice and tossed it all together with a bamboo spatula. I added a generous pinch of kosher salt, a half-teaspoon of granulated sugar, and nice pinch of ground white pepper. I wokked the rice until it was super-fragrant, totally warmed through, and a bit crispy in some areas. I killed the heat and stirred in about a tablespoon of the sliced scallion greens and a little minced cilantro. As a final touch I sprinkled the rice with some furikake, that Japanese seasoning shake that can contain all kinds of things from dried seaweed to sesame seeds to tiny bits of dried egg yolk to minced dried Japanese chili. This particular furikake had black sesame seeds, bits of nori, ground dried shiso leaf, and minced bonito flakes (katsuobushi for those in the know).

I piled a little rice on the plate and added a couple of slices of this excellent peppered bacon smoked with hickory (sorry I forgot to note the brand). I fried the egg in a combination of bacon fat and butter and laid it atop the rice. The liquid yolk immediately burst out and ran into the rice and flooded the plate. Totally YUM!

One thought on “Today’s Brekkie: Fried Egg, Fried Broken Rice, Peppered Bacon

  1. Hi Spencer Yum!- It is early Sunday morning have not have coffee it’s pouring rain and that exact brekkie is what I need right now in a slightly hungover primal way. I love this damn blog because I’ve had just enough of your food over the years to be able to have your pictures and stories allow me the same type of feeling I think folks get when they have a ghost limb feeling after an amputation–you say it and show it and I can actually taste it sometimes, your exact version of it, it’s great. It’s easiest when you’re making something I’ve had of yours or close to it but a couple times trying to maintain the high I’ve nearly ripped the skin off the tip of my right index finger from scrolling abrasion plowing through through posts trying to keep enough virtual butter in my system to keep me purple dranked.

    A couple of days ago I stumbled on and caught 2 or 3 of the newish videos with Liesl. Wow that was a very big move from nothing to something in terms of how it looked from a occasional dabbler in omnivourous style reader as myself. Production values, editing, the background, audio levels, wow the whole thing it is all extremely well polished and it shows that a lot of thought was put into it and so first off guys, nice work to all involved. Secondly, I can’t get over how much I like just seeing/hearing/saying Liesl’s name and I love saying it over and it goes best over top of the Admiral Halsey/Beatle’s tune”Liesl, Liesl get around, get around, little Liesl, be a gypsy get around.” Don’t sing it to yourself even once that way though as now I am stuck with it maniacally playing in my mind and and I’m not sure if I am going to do be able to tackle any very significant challenges today.

    Speaking of challenges, that’s what I was going to mention about your video segments. I love them I think you have all the shit dialed in just right and but I get the slight feeling you both are waiting there for the “boss level” challenge part of the episode to drop down so you can turn up the music louder, deal with the series of malfunctions and challenges Houston has put to you guys in the LEM simulator kinda thing and really get to work and possibly risk hurting yourselves somehow as you try to overcome the challenges. Somehow we want more of what comes natural to each of your characters, we just want to experience your characters more because we can see how smooth this stuff is going so far, so lets see how far they can go and still get the job done. This is my inexpert opinion that absolutely no one in their right mind would pay for and you certainly shouldn’t take into consideration in any way whatsover.

    I am thinking something like what about having live animals on each of the shelves behind you (crows hopping back and forth ocasionally squawking, maybe rabbits or lemurs on other shelves, mixed greens to add color, those smooth tumbled carrots have Liesl always be handing those out to some of animals) and maybe even a squirrel or a prairie dog on the actual food preparation table island you and Liesl are working on, untethered from the time you do the black and white clacker thing starting the movie and not to be eaten but just there as an obstacle and audience aid for those with ADHD. But completely play it straight like this is how everyone should cook, the challenge is to keep everything together and sterile and it just happens to be your relationship with animals that you not only want them as part of the meal you want them around during the prep. But don’t fawn over them or anything, you just have to steadily increase the amount of animals in the cooking area for each show. If you kept the squirrel/ferret just a little bit hungry I would tune in 2 or 3 times a week to watch and see if you could make whatever you were making as a hungry skink or peterson’s mouse was on the table while you and Liesl were working away on things.

    Pan Fried Tilapia, Shallots and Toast Underbelly Infusion with a Wiley Mammal Portmanteau?

    Seriously excellent work guys, I was blown away by the videos, cool. Myself, I am going with Ambrosia this days. Have a nice Sunday. Matt http://imgur.com/DwH05iR

Leave a Reply

